Nobody Threw a Chair at My Head

March 16, 2015 § 1 Comment

Or, Writers–so dramatic.

Write
March 16, 2015

So I finally saw the movie Whiplash. It is a brilliant illustration of the artistic passion that drives one to be great at something one loves at all costs.

Whiplash

At Saturday’s LERA meeting, Angela James, Editorial Director of Carina Press, conducted a fabulous and informative day-long workshop. Part of the workshop included a session where Angela would read the first two pages of our respective manuscripts and give a critique. I submitted mine, since I am in the process of rewriting. This was perfect timing.

Angela pointed out some things that I am either already aware of, such as my word count–I know, I know, I have to cut the word count— or that are relatively easy fixes. The best part was that nobody in class told me my dialogue sucked and that no real person would act the way my characters were acting.

I’ve come a long way since the 9th grade.

And hey, this didn’t happen:

I’ll take the win.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Nobody Threw a Chair at My Head

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nobody Threw a Chair at My Head at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta