I’m Back and I’m Doing NaNoWriMo

October 13, 2014 § 4 Comments

or,
I Know. It’s Way Past Labor Day

Write
October 13, 2014

I’m back. Not because I finally submitted my manuscript to the agent who requested it at RWA14. No. Because after a month and a half of condensing and cutting, my beloved manuscript is still way over the ideal word count. One of my Hot Tub Readers strongly suggested I take a break from it.

So I’m taking a break from it.

Anxiety is still skating across my chest, my stomach alternates between roiling with nausea and growling with hunger, and I want to cry about every two hours, but I’m working through it.

I have decided, for the first time, to participate in NaNoWriMo, also known as National Novel Writing Month. The founder of NaNoWriMo, Chris Baty, was the guest speaker at the LERA (Land of Enchantment Romance Authors) meeting on Saturday.

Chris Baty, Founder of NaNoWriMo, at the LERA meeting, October 11, 2014.

Chris Baty, Founder of NaNoWriMo, at the LERA meeting, October 11, 2014.

He is a great speaker. Funny, entertaining, and inspiring. I am inspired to give this NaNoWriMo thing a go. After the past few years of completely devoting myself to a project that has become my love and my obsession, only to hit a brick wall, it will be good for me to try something completely different.

At 1,667 words a day.

Eep!

Like I said, it will be good for me. Right?

Write!
(Hee, hee. Couldn’t resist. I have to crack myself up somehow. Or else I’ll just crack up, period.)

Chris Baty has inspired me to write a flawed novel, really quickly.

Chris Baty has inspired me to write a flawed novel, really quickly.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to I’m Back and I’m Doing NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m Back and I’m Doing NaNoWriMo at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

