Week Twenty-Six: Vietnam War Memoirs, Nora Ephron, Dark Knight Tumbler Tour

July 2, 2012 § 5 Comments

July 1st, 2012

Read
Still doing research on the Vietnam War for one of my characters, a Vietnam War vet. This Saturday I picked up my special order of Bloods: Black Veterans of the Vietnam War from Barnes & Noble. Sunday morning I read a book review in the Albuquerque Journal about a new bio titled Echoes of a Distant Past: Screaming Eagles -Vietnam War Memoirs, 1969-70. Talk about synchronicity. I’ll be picking that book up, too.

Nora Ephron (1941-2012), Thanks and Goodbye

Nora Ephron (1941-2012), Thanks and Goodbye (Photo credit: k-ideas)

Write

Last Tuesday Nora Ephron died. I heard the news the following morning at work, and it was all I could do to not burst into tears all over my computer. Nora Ephron was a huge influence and inspiration to me as a writer. I always remember a quote of hers where she talked about how the day her marriage ended, she knew she had a story, and the only question was whether she could stop crying long enough to write it. The story she was talking about was Heartburn. When I read that quote several years ago, I had gone through a romantic heartbreak of my own that I was pouring onto paper with ink and tears, so I knew what she was talking about. And I knew I really am supposed to be a writer. When I read Heartburn, I knew what genre I wanted to write in. On Sunday, I went to Flying Star Café with one of my friends, and in honor of Nora Ephron, I ordered two desserts.

Bliss

After having a slice of pie and a brownie at Flying Star, I walked down the street with my friends to Astro-Zombies and the Dark Knight Tumbler Tour to check out the vehicles they used in the movie. It was almost 100 degrees outside and we dropped about five pounds each in sweat alone, but what a blast it was. I’m so excited for the July 20 opening of the Dark Knight Rises. My friend’s birthday is that day, so we’re thinking a superhero party is in order!

Me at Dark Knight Tumbler Tour at Astro-Zombies in Albuquerque, NM

Dark Knight Tumbler Tour at Astro-Zombies in Albuquerque, NM

Dark Knight Tumbler Tour at Astro-Zombies in Albuquerque, NM

Dark Knight Tumbler Tour at Astro-Zombies in Albuquerque, NM

Dark Knight Tumbler Tour at Astro-Zombies in Albuquerque, NM

Batman & Me at Dark Knight Tumbler Tour

Dark Knight Tumbler Tour at Astro-Zombies

Dark Knight Tumbler Tour at Astro-Zombies, Albuquerque, NM

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Week Twenty-Six: Vietnam War Memoirs, Nora Ephron, Dark Knight Tumbler Tour

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Twenty-Six: Vietnam War Memoirs, Nora Ephron, Dark Knight Tumbler Tour at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta