Movie Mishap: From Magic Mike to Moonrise Kingdom

July 2, 2012 § 3 Comments

Women all over Albuquerque lined up to see the Channing Tatum and Other Hot Men stripper movie. A lot of women lined up, including me and my friend Dia.

“I think it’s sold out,” said Dia.

No!”  It had been a long week and it was Friday night.

To the ticket boy behind the glass, I said, “Tell me Magic Mike is not sold out.”

“Until ten o’ clock.”

A 10:00 p.m. movie means a 1:00 a.m. bed time. I had to get up early Saturday to clean house and grocery shop and go watch the Pride Parade.

“This is totally lame-o,” I lamented.

The ticket boy practically smirked at us.

Prometheus starts in ten minutes,” said Dia.

Wow. Nearly-naked, hot men movie to creepy, cerebral alien movie is not a fun transition. But it was Friday night, so what else were we going to do?

I grumbled all the way through the lobby and past the ticket-taker and down the hall to theater 17. I made a pit stop—Prometheus was only two hours long but I had a feeling it would seem a lot longer.

Inside the theater we took the very back top row so we could enjoy, undisturbed, the takeout boxes of tempura sushi Dia had smuggled in. We were so busy chowing down it took awhile for me to register that we had watched at least ten minutes of pre-previews—the commercials for TV shows and soft drinks.

“I think we’re in the wrong theater,” I said.

“No, this is the right one,” said Dia.

I checked my watch. “Prometheus was supposed to start at seven. It’s seven-nineteen and the previews haven’t even started yet.”

“Those times they list aren’t exact,” Dia said.

“Um, yeah they are. I bet we’re in the wrong theater.”

“Okay, let’s make a bet. If I win, you have to go on a date with that publisher of the online magazine that I was telling you about. What do you want if you win?”

What I wanted was a date with that guy I had met at ABQ Comic Expo a few weeks ago, but I doubted my bet-winning powers would help me out there. And I was about to win this bet. Because the previews had started and they were for quirky, upbeat, personal stories like The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Hyde Park on Hudson. Not typical lead-ins for alien stories. More like lead-ins for . . .

“We’re seeing Moonrise Kingdom!” I whispered.

“No!” It was Dia’s turn to be in denial.

I checked Flixster on my phone. Sure enough, Moonrise Kingdom, Century Rio 24, 7:20. Bam!

I was happy. Dia was not. She had no faith in this movie I had been trying to get her to see. As soon as she saw Bill Murray on the screen, though, she was good.

We laughed pretty much throughout the whole movie. Dia thinks we were the only ones who were laughing, but, really, we were just laughing the loudest.

Moonrise Kingdom is set on an East Coast island in 1965. Two twelve-year-old kids meet at a recital and know that they’re made for each other. They run away together, Suzy with her record player and suitcase of books (that’s my girl!) and Sam with his tent and beef jerky and wilderness skills he learned from being a Khaki Scout. A search party forms, consisting of the island sheriff (Bruce Willis), Suzy’s parents (Bill Murray and Frances McDormand) and Sam’s Khaki Scout troop. I loved seeing Edward Norton play against type as the soft-spoken, kind-hearted troop leader. When this group sets off to find the missing kids, it sets off a hilarious, explosive chain of events and self-discovery at the same time. There are so many great moments in this movie: one that sticks out is Suzy and Sam, in their underwear, dancing on the shore to the music playing from her portable record player. When the movie was over, I actually clasped my hands together in happiness.

“Okay, Moreo, you picked a good movie,” said Dia. “But you didn’t state your bet so now you have to go out with that magazine publisher.”

“That’s not how it works,” I said. “But next Friday we’re seeing Magic Mike.”

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Movie Mishap: From Magic Mike to Moonrise Kingdom

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Movie Mishap: From Magic Mike to Moonrise Kingdom at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

