Week Twenty: Alyson Noël, Typing Pains, Nikita, and the Solar Eclipse

May 21, 2012 § 2 Comments

May 20, 2012

Read
I finished The Temptation by Alisa Valdes, a tale of star-crossed kindred spirits caught in a battle against pure evil. The images and emotions this book evoked stayed with me long after I put the book down. I am really looking forward to the second book in the trilogy! Click here for my post on Valdes’ book signing.

I started and finished Faking 19 by Alyson Noël, a young adult novel about a girl who flees the suburbs to L.A. with her best friend to escape her crumbling academic and home life. I love Noël’s writing style, and she is doing a book signing this coming Tuesday at Alamosa Books here in Albuquerque! Noël is promoting Fated, the first book in her new paranormal series, set in New Mexico!

I started reading Fifty Shades of Grey by EL James. Everybody’s talking about it, even Marlos Thomas. A friend of mine said she had to take a lot of cold showers when she was reading this book. We’ll see . . . I haven’t made it to the juicy section yet; this book actually contains story and build-up.

Write
I should take my friend up on her offer to transcribe for me—she types 95 words a minute! But she’s a single mom and a schoolteacher and has plenty on her plate already and I hate to impose. Besides, I can’t have somebody reading the end of my novel before reading the beginning. So my right arm will probably end up wrapped in an ACE bandage by the time I finish typing. Did I mention I suffer from repetitive motion disorder? The sacrifices one makes.

Bliss
The Nikita season two finale aired on Friday and thank God it’s been renewed for a third season. Show runner Craig Silverstein has created a modern day myth with his super-cool spy thriller. One of my gushing post-finale-watching tweets (I am @shannonymoreau) got included in a blog post by Pop Culture Nexus—how cool is that? Here is an interview with Silverstein on TV Line about what’s coming up in season 3. Warning, it does contain spoilers.

Sunday my friends and I went to the University of New Mexico Observatory to watch the solar eclipse. Albuquerque was right on the central path so we had a perfect view. Click here for ABQ Journal photo gallery. I couldn’t resist trying to take pictures with my digital camera. I’d look at the eclipse through my solar glasses, hold my camera up (which completely obliterated my view), then my friend would hold her glasses in front of my camera lens and I’d snap the picture, hoping for the best. I had a lot of misses with this method, but a few pictures came out pretty decent for an amateur. When the ring of fire appeared in the sky at 7:33 pm everybody started cheering. It was pretty freaking awesome.

My pic of the ring of fire taken with my Canon Powershot and solar eclipse glasses held in front of the lens.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Week Twenty: Alyson Noël, Typing Pains, Nikita, and the Solar Eclipse

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Twenty: Alyson Noël, Typing Pains, Nikita, and the Solar Eclipse at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

