Weekend Reading: Wow, I Really Needed to Update My Goodreads

October 27, 2014 § Leave a comment

Read
October 27, 2014

I really have been reading as well as writing the past two months. I just haven’t had a chance to write about what I’ve been reading.

Degas in New Orleans by Christopher Benfey

This is one of the many books I checked out from the library in preparation for the trip to New Orleans I took back in July. It was chock full of fascinating info, including Degas’ relation to African-American inventor Norbert Rillieux. It also inspired my Haunted House blog post. I was a little sad when I returned this book to the library. It reminded me so much of my trip to NOLA.

DegasInNewOrleans

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

This book made me feel so much better–optimistic even–about the fact that I sometimes go see movies by myself.

It also reminded me of all those times my friend and I would dish about everything from our dating drama to our hopes and dreams to the latest Ally McBeal episode–via company email. What were we thinking?!?

Attachments

Jane’s Melody by Ryan Winfield

This book made me want to go hang out in bars again, listening to live music performed by hot young musicians. But this writing thing is sucking up ALL MY TIME. For right now, I’ll just have to settle for reading the sequel.

Love the cover.

Love the cover.

Dance Upon the Air by Nora Roberts

At dinner and drinks one evening my friend told me she had Dark Witch by Nora Roberts on her eReader and I said “Oh, I’ve been wanting to read that one” and my friend said “If you’re interested in the witch stories I can recommend some of her other witch trilogies” and I said, “Hold up. NORA ROBERTS has OTHER WITCH TRILOGIES?!?”

And that’s how I found myself enjoying blissful lunch hours in the park reading Dance Upon the Air and dreaming of cottage kitchens and herb gardens and dancing under the moonlight.

DanceUponTheAir

 

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I dug my own hole on this one. I was trying to find someone I actually know in my real life who has read this book so I could ask them if they would recommend reading it. Instead, I talked someone else into checking it out and she is now done with it and a little peeved that I am still trying to get through it because she CAN’T DISCUSS THE ENDING WITH ME YET. What can I say? I had to finish the Nora Roberts witch book before the library loan expired again.

GoneGirlWhat have you been reading?

 

Tagged:

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekend Reading: Wow, I Really Needed to Update My Goodreads at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta