Weekend Reading: Jane Eyre and My Horizontal Life

January 26, 2015 § 3 Comments

I know, they couldn’t be more different

Read
January 26, 2015

Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte, is one of my favorite books. It was time for a re-read, especially since I am in the process of rewrites and this book is a major influence on my writing. This is one of those books that as I read it at different stages in my life, I get something new out of it.

JaneEyre

Like how that St. John dude was trying to convince Jane that he knew what her life path should be, that many people like her were clueless as to what they should be doing with their sorry selves, to which she replied:

“If they are really qualified for the task, will not their own hearts be the first to inform them of it?”

And the quote describing what loneliness really is:

“You are cold, because you are alone; no contact strikes the fire from you that is in you.”

And the sharp wit between Jane and Rochester:

“I am paving hell with energy.”

Timeless.

I was not a huge fan of the Chelsea Lately talk show, but I am a huge fan of My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler.

My Horizontal Life

I saw it on BuzzFeed’s 32 Books Guaranteed to Make You Laugh Out Loud, and I cracked up numerous times while reading this book, often in public. It is very well-written and hilarious in an understated, dry wit kind of way. There were too many lines to count that just made me feel like this woman is after my own heart. Such as,

“After I regained my composure, I realized it was time to formulate a plan. Step one was to start drinking immediately.”

and

“It was Valentine’s Day and I had spent the day in bed with my life partner, Ketel One.”

and

“I was tired and reminded them that nothing positive happens after two a.m.”

That is for damn sure.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to Weekend Reading: Jane Eyre and My Horizontal Life

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekend Reading: Jane Eyre and My Horizontal Life at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

