Taking My Happy Endings Where I Can Get Them

February 10, 2014 § 2 Comments

Bliss
February 10, 2014

That awkward moment when your friend kindly takes a bunch of photos of you posing next to the movie poster so that you can post the photo on your blog, and you realize that in every single one of those photos you look like a total goober.

TAM

We were supposed to continue our Oscar nom catch up with either The Wolf of Wall Street or Philomena. That did not work out. Lesson learned: pick a place to eat that is no more than ten minutes away from the movie theater, in case your friend totally forgets where the restaurant is (even though you all ate there just last week) and shows up twenty minutes late, and in case every single freaking couple and family in town shows up at the same time, bogging down the wait staff and making you too late to make it to any of the movies on your list that are only playing at the theater that is twenty-five minutes away.

So instead, we went to a theater close by to check out what else was playing, and ended up seeing That Awkward Moment.

The guys were cute. They had great chemistry. There were some seriously funny laugh-out-loud moments. And despite the whole “player-players trying to bed as many girls as possible and move on” premise, the story line was actually pretty romantic. So not a total bust.

“Oh, that was fun,” my friend Martha said. “Of course, that is just like men. All that stuff in the movie is so true. Except for the happy ending.”

“Don’t say that,” I said. “We believe in happy endings. As a matter of fact, we insist on them.”

“No,” Martha said. “Happy endings are bullshit.”

To which I replied, “I did not pay $10.75 for bullshit.”

People turned to look at me like WTF? Martha laughed and commented that I was so funny.

I get the feeling she was just humoring the crazy, deluded, goober person.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Taking My Happy Endings Where I Can Get Them

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Taking My Happy Endings Where I Can Get Them at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

