Reading for the Weekend (October 25)

October 25, 2013 § Leave a comment

Read
October 25, 2013

I was not in the best state of mind when I finished Covet  a couple of weekends ago. I can still say, however, that this book is beautifully written and has compelling characters and I came away from it with two profound lessons: tell your life partner the truth about whatever messed up crap you’re going through; and make the time to get it on.

Covet by Tracey Garvis Graves

Covet by Tracey Garvis Graves

Check out Julie’s lovely review over at Yummy Men and Kick Ass Chicks.

I’m still enjoying the heck out of Who Asked You?  Here are a couple of  prime examples of McMillan’s talent to give a lot of information about someone in a short space and also make them totally relatable:

“I open the white cabinet, the one with the loose brackets, and pull a straw out of the mayonnaise jar I keep them in.”

That took me back to my childhood, living in the tippy, tiny apartment on the corner.

“I did get a kick out of Pirates of the Caribbean after I downed one of my little bottles of tequila I keep in my purse just for times like this when I wish I was somewhere else but can’t just up and leave.”

I must get me a little purse bottle of tequila.

Who Asked You? by Terry McMillan

Who Asked You? by Terry McMillan

I just started Twelve Years a Slave  because the movie is coming to Albuquerque on November 8th and a whole group of us are supposed to read the book and then go see the movie. After I read this review in the New York Daily News and this review in Rolling Stone, however, I wondered why the hell I am doing this to myself.

Oh, yeah. Because I kind of have to.

Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup

Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup

What are you reading this weekend?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reading for the Weekend (October 25) at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

