Reading into La-La Land, Working the Return, and ACE!

June 24, 2013 § Leave a comment

June 23, 2013

View from under a tree while taking a snack break during ABQ Comic Expo

View from under a tree while taking a snack break during ABQ Comic Expo

Read
I started Entwined with You, but my reading has been limited to me trying to get in a couple of pages at night before I pass out. I’ve been getting to bed too late a lot, because . . .

Write
The RWA (Romance Writers of America) conference in Atlanta is fast approaching, and I have to get my manuscript finalized, vetted by my Hot Tub Readers, and prepped for the pitch. The Return phase is coming along pretty well. Only problem is, I’ll go into a scene thinking that all I need to do is polish it up a little and then I’ll realize, oh, wait, this scene has been rendered totally obsolete by all the changes I made in the previous fifteen chapters. As Charlie Brown would say, “Augggh!”

Jazz got an impromptu water hose bath after I found her playing with a dead bird. Totally interrupted my writing sprint.

Jazz got an impromptu water hose bath after I found her playing with a dead bird.
Totally interrupted my writing sprint.

Bliss
Headed to Albuquerque Comic Expo (ACE) on Saturday even though I was tired and had a killer headache that Excedrin couldn’t even stifle for longer than two hours. I wasn’t missing ACE, though, no way. The art, the costumes, the Breaking Bad panel. (More on that later this week.) I got to see Michael Golden again, and picked up a luminous Power Girl print he created. I told him that I remember a lot of his tips from his storytelling workshop last year, and that I am applying them to my current project. “I’ll think a scene is really cool because it’s subtle, but my readers will say, ‘I don’t get it’ and then I remember: Okay. I have to spell it out again. Right here and now in this scene.”

MIchael Golden signs one of his prints at ACE 13

MIchael Golden signs one of his prints at ACE 13

Michael said, “Number one rule. People are stupid.”

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reading into La-La Land, Working the Return, and ACE! at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

