Reading into the Wee Hours, Starting the Return, and Man of Steel Let Down

June 19, 2013 § 2 Comments

June 18, 2013

Read
I stayed up until one in the morning reading Reflected in You because I got to the last quarter of the book and I just had to see what was going to happen next. Compared to the first book, Reflected was in some ways more romantic, in some ways a lot darker, and the sex scenes were even more intense.

Reflected in You

Saturday morning, while I was making my coffee, I kept replaying the book in my head. It brought up a lot of issues. I really liked how this story played with the theme of trust. Next, I’m reading Entwined with You.

Write
I finished the Dark Moment and, yes, it involved a lot of Vodka. I had promised myself a comedy run when I finished so I rewarded myself with a The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air marathon. That show is still hilarious, and the chemistry between the family, particularly Will and Uncle Phil, is gold. Now, I am on to the Return. It should be in pretty good shape because it is the section that I worked on extensively last year. It should be in pretty good shape. We’ll see.

Bliss

Laughing, remembering the ridiculous “I think he’s kind of hot” line. Of course he’s hot, you idiot, he’s Superman, but you don’t have to act a fool in front of your commanding officer over it. Save it for the beers with your girlfriends.

Man of Steel movie night. Remembering the ridiculous “I think he’s kind of hot” line.
Of course he’s hot, you idiot, he’s Superman, but you don’t have to act a fool in front of your commanding officer over it. Save it for the beers with your girlfriends.

I was super excited for the Man of Steel movie, but—and I hate to say it—I was disappointed. Henry Cavill did a great job of filling (and I do mean filling) the role of Superman/Clark Kent, but Amy Adams’ Lois Lane lacked the quirky spunk I’ve come to expect and love in that character.

HENRY CAVILL as Clark Kent in Warner Bros. Pictures’ and Legendary Pictures’ action adventure “MAN OF STEEL,” a Warner Bros. Pictures release. Source: KryptonSite - http://bit.ly/18YwAJH

HENRY CAVILL as Clark Kent in Warner Bros. Pictures’ and Legendary Pictures’ action adventure “MAN OF STEEL,” a Warner Bros. Pictures release. Photo source: KryptonSite 

There were so many cool ideas that would have been great for the character development and chemistry building if those ideas had actually played out. Like Clark Kent working under the radar as a laborer, saving a bunch of people from an industrial disaster, and then disappearing, while Lois Lane chases after this mysterious hero, this urban legend. They could have done more with that, and many other scenes that put Lois and Clark in fresh and interesting situations, but were cut short for, oh, let’s see, ANOTHER childhood flashback.

AMY ADAMS as Lois Lane in Warner Bros. Pictures’ and Legendary Pictures’ action adventure “MAN OF STEEL,” a Warner Bros. Pictures release. Photo source: KryptonSite:

AMY ADAMS as Lois Lane in Warner Bros. Pictures’ and Legendary Pictures’ action adventure “MAN OF STEEL,” a Warner Bros. Pictures release. Photo source: KryptonSite

While it’s pretty much expected that Superman and Lois are going to kiss, because they’re supposed to kiss, I still need to see why they’re supposed to kiss. I need the chemistry, the build up, the “yes, kiss, dammit, you’re made for each other!” moment.

I guess I’m just going to have to keep watching my Smallville Blu-Rays for my Lois and Clark fix.

Man of Steel topped the box office this weekend. What did you think of it?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Reading into the Wee Hours, Starting the Return, and Man of Steel Let Down

  • Emma says:

    I love the Fresh Prince. Did you see Will Smith on the Graham Norton show recently? At home we got up dancing and shouting!

    • Shannon says:

      I did not see Will Smith on the Graham Norton show, but this is the second time in as many days that someone’s mentioned Graham Norton to me. I’m going to have to check it out!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reading into the Wee Hours, Starting the Return, and Man of Steel Let Down at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

