Book Review: Bared to You, by Sylvia Day, Crossfire #1

June 2, 2013 § 5 Comments

Obsessive love: I can relate to that. And, “raw, primal, sheet-clawing” sex—hallelujah!

Bared to You

After I finished this book I had to turn right around and read it a second time. Wonder how I count that on Goodreads? I’m seriously lagging in my 2013 Reading Challenge.

A lot of people compare Bared to You to Fifty Shades of Grey and there are some similarities, the most obvious being that the guy, Gideon Cross, is extremely rich and powerful. The girl, Eva Tramell, however, while considerably lower on the economic scale, is no babe in the woods. She is smart and takes care of herself, which I love.

The sex scenes are way hot, but do not involve contracts or bondage, which I also love. Both characters have dark pasts, so they are a good match for each other, but also have a lot of barriers and traumatic aftermath to work through. They have their jealousy and possessiveness issues, but it doesn’t get to the point of being threatening or suffocating or controlling, so I am totally okay with that.

Later edition--I love this cover.

Later edition–I love this cover.

Bared to You is tightly written and the characters are  grounded in everyday life with real jobs and friends and families. Eva has a loyal yet self-destructive roommate, a stalwart yet lonely father, an anxious and overprotective mother, and an indulgent stepfather.

I read Bared a second time and just started the sequel, Reflected in You. I am so glad these characters and their story continue on.

4 out of 5 stars.

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to Book Review: Bared to You, by Sylvia Day, Crossfire #1

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Review: Bared to You, by Sylvia Day, Crossfire #1 at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

