Missing My Dog Piper Two Years Later

April 23, 2013 § 6 Comments

Piper After a Run

Piper After a Run

I totally, totally get why Cesar Millan was so messed up after his dog Daddy died.

Today, I started clearing out the garage to make room for that exercise bike I’m going to get soon, very soon, and I came across my dog’s old bed that I had shoved out of sight after she passed away. It has been almost exactly two years since Piper died of cancer, and when I saw her bed I cried for ten minutes straight, and I’m talking about the ugly cry.

It’s taken me two years to finally clear out her old things, and commemorate what a total cutie pie she was.

Piper Steals Apples from Back Yard

Piper Steals Apples from Back Yard

Piper Loved Getting Her Head Scratched

Piper Loved Getting Her Head Scratched

Piper Gives Herself a Star

Piper Gives Herself a Star

This was one of the last pictures I took of Piper before she left. It got lots of “likes” on Facebook!

Towards the end, Piper couldn’t keep up so well on our daily runs, but kept chugging along like a champ. She’d better be racing around now in that doggie park in the sky, that’s all I got to say.

Related Articles

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Missing My Dog Piper Two Years Later

  • Aw, this just breaks my heart. Piper was definitely a cutie pie! Her big open-mouthed smile in the head scratch picture is just the best. Looks as if she had a lot of love in her life. I have a doggie of my own and I have no idea what I’m going to do when he’s gone. It took me a long time to get over the passing of my hubby’s old dog. It was really my first experience with death at that close of a level (we buried her in the backyard), so it really affected me. Sending you good thoughts. 🙂

  • Shannon says:

    Thank you so much for your happy thoughts! That is cool that you buried your dog in the backyard. It is tough long after they pass on, isn’t it? I’m still taken by surprise by how much so. I remember when I saw the movie “Marley &Me” even the men in the audience were sniffling! The dog/human bond is pretty profound.

  • Emma says:

    Piper looks happy to be going for a run with you.

    • Shannon says:

      That’s one of the things Cesar Millan is so right about: dogs love and need those walks or runs with their owners. Piper was so much better behaved, little rascal that she was, after I started taking her running every day.

  • […] Maggie’s journey made me remember my pit bull Piper, bless her heart, and really appreciate even more how our every move and every mood means the world […]

  • […] I’m either going to re-read Breaking Dawn because that was the only thing I could read after my dog died a few  years ago. Yeah, go […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Missing My Dog Piper Two Years Later at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

