My First Manuscript Reading Party

March 12, 2013 § Leave a comment

I had my first manuscript reading party last month. I was equal parts nervous and excited drank red wine and read my first chapter and part of my second chapter out loud to my willing well-fed audience.

Shannon Reading LDS

Dia is a filmmaker and movie buff and Vic is an avid reader and movie buff so they make for great critique partners.

Dia and Vic Reading Night

I received good feedback on my opening: “It definitely grabs your attention, but needs to be smoother.”

They let me know when something wasn’t clear:

“Who’s T? Was he the—” “No, no, he’s the—”

Yeah, that means my “subtle” introduction of T’s character was just obscure and needs some work.

Ah the Wit

The good news is that they liked and cared about my main character, flaws and all. They spent a good chunk of time after the reading trying to figure out what’s going to happen next. Dia said my humor reminds her of a cross between Tina Fey and Sgt. Wu from Grimm. I’ll take it!

It’s scary putting your baby out there for others to peer and prod at, but it is worth it to get real world feedback on what works and what doesn’t. And it means you have to keep writing, because your friends will hound you mercilessly for the next installment.

Dia Sketchy Vic

The morning after the reading, Dia texted me. She wanted me to spill the beans to her about what happens next. “I won’t tell Vic. :)”

My response: “You’ll just have to come back for the next reading!”

A Toast

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My First Manuscript Reading Party at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

