Follow Bliss Friday 9-7-12: My New Nook and Comics!

September 8, 2012 § 4 Comments

Nook Tablet from Barnes and Noble

Read
I got my eReader! I decided on the Nook Tablet from Barnes and Noble. The Nook Touch that just reads eBooks in black and white is half the price, but I had to have color so I could read comics and graphic novels.

I transferred the eBooks I bought a month ago from my laptop to my Nook and have just been reading merrily away with my glowy new toy.

Bliss
I made it back to the comic book store on Labor Day. I had to, between the Smallville Season 11’s piling up and the Superman/Wonder Woman development in the Justice League and the salesman who helped me with my Nook purchase at Barnes and Noble telling me how awesome the straight up Batman is.

Batman Volume 1: The Court of Owls

I just bought Batman Volume 1: The Court of Owls on my Nook and it is so freaking cool!  I showed it to my friends at a birthday dinner last night, thinking they would just be wowed, but they were like “Wow, I haven’t read a comic book in thirty years.” So, not wowed in the way I had anticipated. Whatever.

After checking out the Justice League on the Nook demo and in the comic book store, I have decided that I will be buying Justice League: Volume 1: Origin in hardcover instead of digital because the art is so gorgeous.

Justice League Volume 1 (New 52)

Solidarity, Opus!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Follow Bliss Friday 9-7-12: My New Nook and Comics!

  • Emma says:

    Yay. Now you will be reading twice as much.

  • Danielle says:

    I can’t believe that the first volume of the new 52 Batman series is already out! This makes me cry a little inside since it’s seriously been THAT long since I’ve been in my local comic book shop, and I haven’t collected a single issue.

    Although your dinner party friends were not wowed, I am because I’ve always wondered if some people’s experiences are the same when reading a comic virtually vs. paper. I have the DC comics app on my phone, but I actually prefer having the physical copies. Would you trade in your physical copies for the virtual equivalents?

    • Shannon says:

      You know, I wouldn’t trade my physical copies for virtual. I am really enjoying the Batman comics on my Nook but I do have to toggle between zoom and full page to get the full effect. I definitely will buy the Justice League in hard copy. Speaking of which, I need to get back to my comic book store, too. Time is just flying!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Follow Bliss Friday 9-7-12: My New Nook and Comics! at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

