Follow Bliss Friday 8-31-12

August 31, 2012 § 3 Comments

Week’s Highlights from the Creative Realm

Superman and Wonder Woman in Love!

I love Superman, and I love Wonder Woman, I’m just not sure how I feel about them together. I know, forgive me, I’m a Clois fan. I have to get back to the comic book store pronto and check this out.

Superman and Wonder Woman - the Hidden Killer

Superman and Wonder Woman – the Hidden Killer (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Kittens and Hedgehogs and Baby Dragons at Bubonicon

Bubonicon 44 Mayan Perry Logo by Ursula Vernon

Okay, there was a lot more than that at Bubonicon 44 this year, but I have to mention the adorable art I got last weekend that is going up on the office wall. One is “Hedgehog’s Balloon” by the convention’s guest artist, Ursula Vernon, whose graphic novel, Digger, has been nominated by the World Science Fiction Society for the 2012 Hugo Award for Best Graphic Story.  The second is “X Marks the Spot” by Alan F. Beck, one in a series of illustrations for book concept The Adventures of Nogard and Jackpot, about a kitten and the spirited baby dragon she discovers in her closet. Yeah, I love the little critters. I learned to read on The Tale of Peter Rabbit, so what can I say?

Illustration of Peter Rabbit eating radishes, ...

Illustration of Peter Rabbit eating radishes, from The Tale of Peter Rabbit (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And speaking of Bubonicon, I really enjoyed the “Genre State in Hollywood” panel with Melinda Snodgrass, Michael Cassutt, and George R.R. Martin.

Data (Star Trek)

Data (Star Trek) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“I fear the special effects.” —Melinda Snodgrass (whom George R.R. Martin affectionately described as the one “who wrote the best Star Trek episode ever, ‘The Measure of a Man’”) commented on the tendency of Hollywood to spend a lot of money and time on special effects and forget to spend any time on a character we actually care about.

Lost was stealth science fiction.” — George R.R. Martin, on how the show started out looking like a Survivor-esque stranded on the island drama, and next thing we know we’re like, are they really on an island?

“If you do whatever the network tells you to do, you will fail.”—Michael Cassutt, on how to deal with execs who often change their mind and don’t know what they want anyway.

English: Publicity photo of Buddy Ebsen and Ir...

English: Publicity photo of Buddy Ebsen and Irene Ryan from The Beverly Hillbillies. Episode is “The Clampetts in Washington” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

At one point the three of them were joking about high concept pitches, and George quipped, “It’s The Beverly Hillbillies, but it’s a drama.” The more they thought about it, the more they kept laughing, and when Melinda added, “It’s Justified meets The Beverly Hillbillies,” everyone just lost it.

Celeste and Jesse Forever

Romantic comedies are supposed to be, you know, romantic. Still, I might just have to check this out to see how the formula is flipped. It’s supposed to be hilarious, and is written by and stars Rashida Jones, so that’s a plus.

“Obsolete Pile of Pressed Tree Pulp”

Opus (comic strip)

Opus (comic strip) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The 2007 Opus comic strip by Berkeley Breathed where Auggie gives Opus an eReader and Opus winds up using the glow from the device to illuminate the pages of his hardbound copy of To Kill a Mockingbird is still how I feel about the whole eReader thing. Even though that comic is taped to the wall of my office, this is the weekend I buy my first eReader. Yep, it’s happening. I have a couple of . . . um . .  .  hot books that I’m dying to read, and they’re in eBook format.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Follow Bliss Friday 8-31-12

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Follow Bliss Friday 8-31-12 at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

