Week Thirty-Two: eReaders, LERA’s Golden Heart Winner, and Grimm

August 16, 2012 § 4 Comments

August 13th, 2012

14 down, 11 to go on Goodreads Challenge

Read
I finished reading Susan Elizabeth Phillips’ The Great Escape (here’s my review) and am now 56% towards my Goodreads Challenge. I started reading Going Cowboy Crazy by Katie Lane, and it is just great sexy fun. I am stoked to start reading Rogue’s Pawn and Sharing Hailey, the first two eBooks I have ever bought, but I don’t have an eReader to read them with. I know, pretty ridiculous. I paid off some credit card bills this month and have not bitten the bullet yet to purchase an eReader. I considered the iPad about as long as it took me to absorb the price—that is too big of an investment for me right now. Everybody seems to be getting tablets, so now I am considering the Nook Color or Nook Tablet. Barnes & Noble just dropped the price on both and I like the idea of walking into one of the few remaining book stores and trying the devices out first hand. How about you? What do you use to read your eBooks?

Write
The monthly LERA (Land of Enchantment Romance Authors) meeting was last Saturday, and the topic was the RWA conference in CA, which many LERA members attended. It sounds like it was a total blast, and I might have to save my pennies (well, more than that) and go next year. The really exciting news is that one of the LERA members, Tamra Baumann, won The Golden Heart® in her category this year! The Golden Heart is a big achievement. It’s a national contest that recognizes outstanding manuscripts by unpublished authors in the romance genre. Best-selling novelist Darynda Jones (and LERA member) got her start when she won the paranormal romance Golden Heart in 2009 for First Grave on the Right. There are so many talented writers in this group, and I really look forward to the meetings because everyone is so friendly and helpful. I’m sending in my membership application this week.

As for my own writing, the timeline I am working on is marching along.

Bliss

I checked out the season 2 premiere of Grimm on Monday, and I think I might be hooked. This striking promo poster intrigued me a lot, and my fellow Front Row Diva, Dia, recommended this show. I like the fact that the hero, who has to be all badass and fight all these monsters, is a really good guy. I’m kind of over the bloodthirsty murdering psychopath as hero thing right now. Bring on the boy scouts, like Clark Kent, Captain America, and, now, Nick Burkhardt. How about you? Any Grimm fans out there who can tell me that I missed a lot first season?

Grimm on NBC Season 2 Poster

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Week Thirty-Two: eReaders, LERA’s Golden Heart Winner, and Grimm

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Thirty-Two: eReaders, LERA’s Golden Heart Winner, and Grimm at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

