Week Twenty-Nine: Aftermath

July 25, 2012 § 3 Comments

July 22nd, 2012

Read
Still reading Susan Elizabeth Phillips’ new book The Great Escape. Still loving it.

Write

Started working on the timeline and immediately faced two time-specific stumbling blocks. I started brainstorming on paper (I also remembered that Susan Elizabeth Phillips said she brainstorms when she hits a plotting wall). Brainstorming really works: I worked out both glitches pretty quickly. I’m sure I’ll come across many, many more in the next few days.

The creator of Front Row Divas (FRD) asked me to write something about the shooting tragedy in Aurora, CO. I went from “what could I possibly write, I’m sitting here stunned and upset” to “I can’t write anything, I’m sitting here listless and depressed and all I can do is ramble” to “I have to write something because I had been talking about going to see The Dark Knight Rises for a month and can’t just shut up when something horrible has happened. And I can’t stop crying.” So I sent something to Ms. FRD expecting the “um, yeah, you need to tighten this up, or just change it altogether” email, and a few hours later she called and said, “Oh, by the way, it’s posted already.”

Bliss

Sitting in the backyard, trying to reconnect with what is good in life.

Shot from back patio after crying over newspaper story of the victims of the CO tragedy.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Week Twenty-Nine: Aftermath

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Twenty-Nine: Aftermath at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

