Week Twenty-Two: Summer Reading, Backstory Music, Mad Men, and ACE!

June 4, 2012 § 1 Comment

June 3rd, 2012

Read
I’m still enjoying Alyson Noël’s Fly Me to the Moon, a contemporary adult novel about a flight attendant who sets a new course in her life after walking in on her boyfriend in the act of a betrayal.

I’m gearing up to tweet on June 7th for NYT’s #summerreading campaign. My list includes Alyson Noël’s young adult paranormal romance Fated (set here in New Mexico!), On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves, Summer and the City by Candace Bushnell, and Home by Toni Morrison.

Write
I totally geeked out doing backstory research on my heroine. Because music is everything to me, I had to know, what were the popular songs in 1975, the year she was born? Tunecaster.com was my source for the top 40 1975 songs of the year. Of all the songs Elton John ever wrote, how was “Island Girl” one of the number ones? On the plus side, “Lyin’ Eyes” by the Eagles hit number one the month of my heroine’s birth, November 1975. And Bruce Springsteen released the album I can’t live without, Born to Run, in 1975. Score!

Bliss

Mad Men

Mad Men (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I caught up on the last 5 weeks of DVR episodes of Mad Men, just in time for tonight’s jaw-dropping episode. I’m drinking and crying as I type this.  Matthew Weiner is a freaking master at story telling. What did you think of Mad Men episode 512, “Commissions and Fees”?

I’m also excited for Albuquerque Comic Expo—ACE!—next weekend. Last year I got my picture taken with LeVar Burton. This year, Billy Dee Williams will be there! What? And Katee Sackhoff from the new Battlestar Galactica. I watched the original as a kid (Richard Hatch who played Apollo was my first TV crush) but didn’t get SyFy on my cable package at the time the remake aired so I never got to see it. Apparently I need to Netflix the new series, because all the reviews are rave.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Week Twenty-Two: Summer Reading, Backstory Music, Mad Men, and ACE!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Twenty-Two: Summer Reading, Backstory Music, Mad Men, and ACE! at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

