Week Seventeen: Transcribing Notes and Judy Blume’s Influence

April 30, 2012 § Leave a comment

April 29, 2012

Read
I picked up Stephen King’s On Writing again. Sitting at my kitchen table, I cracked up over the chapter about how he wrote, printed, AND distributed a satirical high school newspaper he called the Village Vomit. “As all sophomoric humorists must be, I was totally blown away by my own wit,” King begins his hilarious recount of the second time he got in trouble because of something he had written. Once the principal got wind of it, King got two week’s detention, which “turned out to be not so bad.”

Write
I began the fun task of transcribing into the computer all of my feverishly handwritten notes from the past three weeks. The “fun” part is trying to decipher what I had written while in a hotel room, or before the coffee kicked in at 5:45 a.m., or late on a Friday night as the wine was making its way through my bloodstream.

Bliss
“You’ve got to go into that room and you’ve got to get rid of the censor on this shoulder and the critic on this shoulder, or you’re never going to write anything that matters.”—Judy Blume

Photo of Judy Blume in 2009

Photo of Judy Blume in 2009 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Judy Blume was interviewed on the Tavis Smiley show in honor of the 40th anniversary of her famous book Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing. Judy Blume was a major influence on my writing from age twelve through sixteen. “Imitation preceded creation” Stephen King writes. The style and genre of Blume’s Forever and Then Again, Maybe I Won’t inspired my own penciled adolescent writings, which are still tucked safely away in a turquoise accordion file on my bookshelf. That is more than I can say for my copies of Blume’s books, because, like a whole slew of other books and comics that I love, they went the way of one of my many adolescent freak-out purges that I don’t remember. My favorite Judy Blume book, Tiger Eyes, is first on my list to buy, again. Tiger Eyes is being made into a movie, it is directed by Blume’s son, and it was filmed right here in New Mexico!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Seventeen: Transcribing Notes and Judy Blume’s Influence at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

