Week Fifteen: Staying In

April 16, 2012 § 4 Comments

April 15, 2012

Read
“I drew comfort from my books. Oddly enough, it was Louisa May Alcott who provided me with a positive view of my female destiny.” —Patti Smith, Just Kids

Cover of "Just Kids"

Cover of Just Kids

I am reading two books for my Goodreads challenge now, The Vampire Diaries: Nightfall and Just Kids, the National Book Award winning memoir by rock singer Patti Smith. I know, about as different as two books can get. I like to think of it as balance. It took me awhile to get into Nightfall, but things are picking up now. I have to say that the Damon in the book is a lot more compelling to me right now than the Damon on the TV show.

Write
“You start with who and what you know . . . and then you begin to lie about it, you tell one lie that turns into a different lie, and after awhile those models lift off and become their own people.” —Wally Lamb, on PBS’s Harper Lee: Hey, Boo.

This really is true. Even after all this time I’ve spent with these characters, just this week they veered off of the actions and emotions I had originally planned for them. And it actually is better that way. As for my progress, I’m now two weeks behind my ridiculous schedule. It just takes longer to write scenes than I think it’s going to take! But the end is in sight. And I got my taxes done.

Bliss
I was supposed to go to the Midnight Movies for a showing of Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas this Saturday, but I got too caught up in my writing. Which is my bliss, so that makes sense. I was up until 2:00 A.M., not partying, but writing and then reading. Ah, the sacrifices one makes for one’s art.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Week Fifteen: Staying In

  • Emma says:

    Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is on my to watch list. Are you enjoying The Vampire Diaries books?

    • Shannon says:

      I am, although Nightfall is way different from the first four books.It starts off kind of slow and I only kept picking it back up because I want to see what’s going on with the characters. Now it’s getting pretty interesting. I especially like the “thing” that seems to be happening between a couple of the characters!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Fifteen: Staying In at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

