Week Eleven: Hungry and Hazy

March 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

March 18, 2012

Read
Woke up in a bit of a daze. I spent the latter part of Saturday finishing The Hunger Games. Skipped lunch, missed dinner, which is pretty fitting, I guess.  For the past week I’ve thought of Katniss Everdeen every day. My heart raced when her heart raced. My stomach dropped when her stomach dropped. What will I do without her now? Oh, yeah. Go see the movie next weekend!

Write
Every time I sit down to write, my chest gets all fluttery. The words and the scenes are still flowing. I just looked at my calendar and realized I have two weeks left to make my end of March finish my draft deadline. Eeep! I have been losing an hour or so of sleep every night and barely getting to work on time in the morning because my writing sessions keep running over, but that’s what coffee is for.

Bliss

On Friday I went to Tall Tale Comics to pick up my special orders and ran over my lunch break by thirty minutes. I had to stay late to make it up, and it was all the clerk’s fault. (It’s okay, I still had time to go to the gym and watch Nikita.) When the clerk retrieved my books and set them down on the counter, a switch went on and he couldn’t stop talking comics. As he tried to help me find some issues of Superman, he told me his top three favorite comics are Batman, Swamp Thing, and Batgirl. He said the new Huntress series is pretty cool, it’s like a retelling of her origin story, and that he was really let down by the new Green Arrow. He pulled out the American Vampire graphic novel and gave me the synopsis and said it is great, even if you’re burned out on the vampire genre. He gave me the synopses of other series, some of which I can’t remember. He said Scott Snyder is the best comic book writer there is right now. It was literally, him: “Do you have to get back?” Me: “Yeah, I do.” Him: “Okay, I just have to show you one more thing.” I love going to the comic book store. I never had anybody to talk comics with when I was a kid. How ironic it is to have that now, when I’m an adult.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Eleven: Hungry and Hazy at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

