Week Ten: Deadlines and Deadlifts

March 13, 2012 § 3 Comments

March 11, 2012

Read
HungerGames
I put off reading The Hunger Games despite its popularity. Impoverished teenagers forced to fight each other to the death for the entertainment of the ruling class is not a good time. Then the Hunger Games movie trailer came out and of course I watched it and I have been haunted by it ever since. So here I am, reading the book before the movie opens on March 23rd. And, it’s a little tough to make myself pick it up again sometimes. The subject matter is no joke. I might have to alternate reading THG with something totally different. Maybe that Fifty Shades of Grey that’s getting so much buzz right now. That would be different.

Write
The writing has been going splendidly. So much so, that I set a ridiculous deadline to have the rest of the draft finished by the end of the month. Yes, it’s actually written down in my planner. In ink. Here I go again with my usual refrain: why do I do these things to myself??

Nikita (Nikita character)

Maggie Q is Nikita. Image via Wikipedia

Bliss
Does catching up on the last few episodes of Nikita count? A little secret— lifting weights in my living room while watching Nikita and the gang kick some Division ass is one of my favorite things to do in the whole world. Oh, and I finally purchased my tickets to the Albuquerque Comic Expo (ACE), which is taking place in June. I got the 3-day pass this time. Last year I got to see Stan Lee for the first time, tweeted a quote by Nicholas Brendon about Joss Whedon and Buffy that got retweeted the rest of the day, and had my picture taken with Levar Burton. (Eee!) This year, I’m contemplating getting the courage up to wear a costume. I’d better keep lifting those weights.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Week Ten: Deadlines and Deadlifts

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Ten: Deadlines and Deadlifts at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

