Week Nine: Finish, Finally, Finale

March 6, 2012 § 2 Comments

March 4, 2012

4 down, Goodreads challenge

Read
I finally finished Third Grave Dead Ahead and . . . wow. I am going to have to process a little bit before I tackle my book review. I will say that it is now my favorite so far in the Charley Davidson series. I was sad to come to the last page only because I knew it was over and I already can’t wait for the next book to come out. I am now four down on my Goodreads Challenge. Next up, The Hunger Games.

Write
Early Saturday morning, exactly a week after I went to the Southwest Writers Script and Screen Conference, I had an epiphany. Sitting in my office chair, waiting for the coffee to kick in and staring at the stupid timeline I’ve been struggling with for the past two weeks, I had a vivid memory. One of the conference speakers, Marc Calderwood, had said, “Know your character, and they will write the plot for you.” I asked myself, now that my hero has come to this point in her journey and made this decision, what will she do next? The answer came simply and clearly, and everything else fell into place. As the sun rose and shone through the opaque white curtains, I sketched out the remaining scene points in my story’s resolution. It went literally, because she does this, her opposition will do this, which will cause her to do this, boom, boom, boom. I am actually looking forward to writing the remaining scenes. Yes, I have seen the light

I Hear You, I See You

Parenthood--Image via Wikipedia

Bliss
Thank goodness for DVRs. I caught up on a couple of my favorite TV shows, including the (sniff!) season finale of Parenthood. It was the most wonderful episode I have ever seen, about choosing and committing to unconditional love. If you haven’t already, I highly recommend that you check out this family dramedy starring Peter Krause (Six Feet Under), Lauren Graham, (Gilmore Girls) and Craig T. Nelson (Coach). Catch the re-runs, watch episodes on NBC.com, rent it on Netflix, whatever. Do it. I mean that with all my heart.

I also finished my stack of Huntress comic books that I got from Tall Tale Comics  a couple of weeks ago. I will be adding this series to my pull box. Why? Because oftentimes I get bogged down and conflicted, juggling my day job life with my writing bliss life. After watching how ruthlessly and efficiently Huntress/Helena switches between her dual identities, I am inspired. If she can do it, I can do it!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Week Nine: Finish, Finally, Finale

  • Emma says:

    I need to hurry up and read The Hunger Games since the first movie is about to come out!

    • Shannon says:

      Me, too! That’s why I’m starting now, almost three weeks before the movie opens. That’s a record for me. I’m usually the one who says, “No, I haven’t seen the movie yet, I’m still trying to get through the book!”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Nine: Finish, Finally, Finale at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

