Week Six: Smiles and Tears

February 14, 2012 § 5 Comments

February 12, 2012

Read
This week I finished Vampire Diaries # 2 The Struggle (the review will be posted in a couple of days) and started Third Grave Dead Ahead, book three in the Charley Davidson series by Darynda Jones. I love this series and I have been eagerly waiting for this latest installment to be released. It is also book four of my Goodreads Challenge. Yes!

Write
I registered for a Script and Screen Conference taking place on February 25th, an already jam-packed weekend and now I am once again wondering why I do these things to myself? I also began the task of organizing and reviewing the last few weeks’ worth of disjointed notebook ramblings for the novel.

Bliss
I found out from KryptonSite.com that a comic book series of Smallville, Season 11 is coming out in April. Oh, happiness! In celebration, I played Disc 1 of Smallville the Final Season Saturday morning while I caught up on housecleaning and laundry.

Me with Author Darynda Jones

A friend and I attended a lecture as part of New Mexico Black History Month, then speed-demoned it across town to Page One bookstore for the Darynda Jones book signing, where I got my picture taken with the author! I also upgraded my phone to the new Blackberry Bold 9900 because it has infinitely better web browsing and actually loads the pages. Now, when I see a Twitter post on, say, “The 10 Greatest Shakespeare Film Adaptations of All Time” or the latest Vampire Diaries review on IGNTV.com, I can actually read it!

That evening when I got on Facebook to post about my awesome day, I saw that Whitney Houston had died. My emotion spectrum immediately went from happiness to denial, sorrow, then depression, which resulted in a colossal headache. When I was in college and working at Target I used to sing “I Will Always Love You” under my breath while back-stocking to help ease the monotony and whatever boy angst I had going on at the time. Now, after processing Whitney’s death, I had to retreat from the computer and the TV and the radio and curl up on the couch with my cat, a glass of wine, and my newly autographed copy of Third Grave Dead Ahead. Which is about the grim reaper. Fitting.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Week Six: Smiles and Tears

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Six: Smiles and Tears at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

