Week Five: Shining Desert Stars

February 7, 2012 § 2 Comments

February 5, 2012

Read
I finished The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening, squeaking in at a rate of two books a month per my Goodreads challenge, and started The Struggle. I actually got more than half way through it on Sunday, thanks to getting slammed with a killer headache that prevented me from doing anything that required too much brain power, like reconciling my bank statement or making any progress on my novel.

I am looking forward to also reading the recently released Third Grave Dead Ahead, the third book in the Charley Davidson series.  I am lucky enough to live in the same city as the author, Darynda Jones, so I will be picking up the book at her Page One book signing this coming weekend.

Write
On account of the aforementioned headache, I did not get to work on my novel on Sunday, the day I usually am able to devote the most time to it. Grr.

Moving on. This past week I became more used to the fact that, oftentimes, after sitting at the kitchen table with the pen and notebook, mentally mucking about futilely for the right words, a brilliant sentence will instead come flying into my head as I’m say, stepping out of the shower or putting on make-up before going to work. Then I must drop everything and run to find the nearest piece of paper and write down this brilliance before it’s gone, gone, gone.

In other news, Julie at Yummy Men and Kick Ass Chicks posted a really good article on what makes a great character. Check it out here.

Bliss
On a cold and 50 mph windy night back in December, I met my singer songwriter friend at her house to eat Chinese takeout and help review her script for her original Roots Revival show. That show came to fruition this weekend when all three nights sold out! Some of my friends performed in the show and it was amazing to watch them in their element, doing what they love, and shining on stage. I got a little tear in my eye

After getting home late from the Friday night show and reception, I crashed into bed, and couldn’t believe it when I heard the automatic coffee maker go off a minute later. Okay, it was four and a half hours later, but it felt like a minute. Then it was shower, throw the bag in the trunk, and leave a half hour later than I should have for Santa Fe to tape the web series. Due to the light Saturday 6:45 a.m. traffic and, um, exceeding the posted speed limit, I arrived at the same time as the producers, which means I was not late! It was such a blast to work with other creative professionals and be a part of the talent and enthusiasm that goes into a project like this. I cannot wait to see the first webisode! Then I drove home (a little slower this time), posted my book review, and jotted a couple of paragraphs on the novel before hitting the sack.

Sunday was supposed to be catch up day. Catch up on laundry, bill paying, novel writing. Except for that crappy headache. I guess it was the fallout from all the excitement this weekend. Sometimes one’s bliss is a little too much for the brain to handle.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Week Five: Shining Desert Stars

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Five: Shining Desert Stars at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

