Week Three: Strange Synchronicities

January 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

January 22, 2012
This weekend I returned to the cave. It has to be done now and again. Don’t go anywhere, don’t talk to anyone. It was heaven. That probably makes me sound a little anti-social. Good thing I write.

Read

1 Down, 24 to Go of Goodreads Challenge

Saturday I holed up and, along with tackling piles of laundry and catching up on paperwork, I finally finished Club Dead. (My book review will be posted this week.) The only problem is, in a reckless moment of over-confidence, I also signed up for the Goodreads challenge: read twenty-five books in the year 2012. I don’t know what possessed me to enter “twenty-five,” it just seemed like a good number at the time. That’s like, two books a month plus one. I am now one down, twenty-four to go. I need to read one more book in the next week or already be behind. Why do I do these things to myself?

Write
It is now officially a habit. Every day I wrote, and the only day I did not work on my book was to finish the Comic Con article. The strange thing is, I published my post about Comic Con that included a blurb about actor Daniel Gillies on the same day that his character, Elijah, made his surprise return to The Vampire Diaries. Gillies’ compelling villain had not been on the show since the end of Season 2, and how we had missed him.

Friday morning I was back to work on my book. I was thinking about what song my character would dedicate on the radio to the girl he likes, and “I’d Rather Go Blind” by Etta James popped into my head. Out of nowhere. I haven’t heard that song in years. Later that day at work, while listening to a jazz show on the radio, I heard that Etta James had passed away that morning. Then one of my Facebook friends, a local DJ, posted a video of his favorite Etta James song. It’s “I’d Rather Go Blind.”

Bliss
Friday night, before heading into the cave of solitude, I went with a  group of friends to see Red Tails, the George Lucas movie about the Tuskegee Airmen. (Commentary to come later.)  I will say that between the broken projector and the armed security guard and the conspiracy theories and the paper airplanes and the hunt for food in Albuquerque at 11:30 on a Friday night and the drive in the dark through the Blair Witch Project parking lot from hell and the buffalo wings that were absolutely horrible, we had a total blast.

Good times ahead.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Three: Strange Synchronicities at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

