2012 New Year’s Resolution: Finish That Novel!

January 10, 2012 § 2 Comments

This is the year I finish the novel. The one I’ve been working on for t—a very long time. I’ve said it before but this time it’s really happening. Really.

January 8, 2012
Read
“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write.” –Stephen King, On Writing

I joined Goodreads, ranked some books I’ve already read, and added Club Dead to my “Currently Reading” shelf. Only problem is, I’m at the tense climactic scene at the end and I haven’t found that hour or two to devote to finishing it. I plowed through a stack of Rolling Stone magazines, and got in some bed time reading of A Courtesan’s Guide to Getting Your Man (which I have not added to my “Currently Reading” shelf, yet). Nothing like some fun sexy reading before heading off to dreamland.

Write
Write a little something every day” –L.J. Smith, author of The Vampire Diaries

Done– even on pedicure-while-catching-up-on-my-TV-shows night (love Parenthood, jury’s still out on Revenge): ten minutes before bedtime a quick peek at my planner reminded me that “Crap! I still have to write,” so I grabbed my notebook and leaned against the kitchen door jamb scribbling furiously while swishing fluoride. Over the week I transcribed pages of disjointed notes from the last crazy holiday-filled month and found a couple of entries that were obviously written while I was winding down after a Saturday night of revelry, sitting at the kitchen table with a drink in one hand and a pen to paper in the other. Sometimes, what comes out in the la-la space between consciousness and sleep is brilliant. Other times, it’s incoherent and illegible: “scribble scribble only one scribble from Dad scribble.” It was fun trying to figure out what I was really trying to say there.

Bliss
Finished the week by attending the final showing of Finding Joe at the Guild Cinema. The perfect conclusion for an aspiring writer, and for anyone embarking on the great journey of life. I will be adding a post about this movie in the next couple of days.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to 2012 New Year’s Resolution: Finish That Novel!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2012 New Year’s Resolution: Finish That Novel! at Read, Write, Bliss.

meta

